# **City Council EGM**

## Monday 30 January 2023

#### PRESENT:

Councillor Dann, in the Chair.

Councillor Penberthy, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Mrs Beer, Bingley, Briars-Delve, Carlyle, Coker, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Dann, Drean, Evans OBE, Finn, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Hulme, Kelly, Loveridge, Lugger, Dr Mahony, McDonald, McLay, Nicholson, Noble, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Poyser, Reilly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tippetts, Tofan, Tuohy, Wakeham, Ms Watkin and Wheeler.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Churchill, Darcy, Deacon, Laing, Lowry, Murphy, Mrs Pengelly, Tuffin and Vincent.

The meeting started at 1.45pm and finished at 1.56pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <a href="https://www.plymouth.gov.uk">www.plymouth.gov.uk</a>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

### 30. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Members in accordance with the code of conduct.

## 31. Freedom of the City

Councillor Richard Bingley (Leader of the Council) introduced the nomination of the Joint Hospital Group (SW) to bestow the honour Freedom of the City. The motion was seconded by Councillor Tudor Evans OBE.

Following a discussion, with a contribution from Councillor Dr John Mahony, It was agreed that in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, that, in appreciation of the splendid traditions of Joint Hospital Group (SW) and as an expression of the admiration of the Citizens of Plymouth for their great and glorious achievements in the Service of this Country and of their long and historic association with the City, the Council do confer upon the services the Honorary Freedom of the City of Plymouth.

For (46)

Councillors Bingley, Carlyle, Drean, Finn, Harrison, Loveridge, Lugger, Dr Mahony, Partridge, Patel, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Smith, Stoneman, Tofan, Wakeham, Ms Watkin, Dann, Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Briars-Delve, Coker, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Evans OBE, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy,

Holloway, McDonald, Noble, Penberthy, Reilly, Rennie, Stevens, Tippetts, Tuohy, McLay, Poyser, Wheeler, Mrs Beer, Hulme, Kelly, Singh and Nicholson.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)

Absent/Did Not Vote (11)

Councillors Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Churchill, Darcy, Deacon, Laing, Lowry, Murphy, Mrs Pengelly, Tuffin and Vincent